24
Apr
09

Well the parts have started to arrive (new pots are much better!)


Well I got my large order from Digikey today, still no PCBs yet though.  Here are a few pics, also you can see the new pots I found are much better, taller, and larger shaft (They feel very smooth also) and best of all they are a lot cheaper!

Also I don’t know why I didn’t do this before but I now have the LCD running a 38400 baud, instead of 9600 and that speeds up everything so that means better sound and cooler sounds too.  I’ll post a sample in the next day.

3 Responses to “Well the parts have started to arrive (new pots are much better!)”


  1. 1 egr
    April 29, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Looking good! One thing you might want to think about: While the pots you’ve chosen look nice and seem to be chunky enough to tweek easily, it would be cool to have enough clearance to stick some knob covers on them. I suppose if somebody really wanted to have fat chrome knobs or whatever they could just mount the pots on something else in whatever layout they wanted. How much space is there between neighboring knob stems when they’re mounted on the pcb?

    • 2 starfiretech
      April 29, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      Well that’s why I’m selling as kits but I made sure the PCB could be assembled with no extra parts, but at the same time the connections for the pots can also be replaced with regular pin headers because the holes are standard .1″ apart so you could just add headers and then just use a 3pin cable which will fit right on the pots I chose and mount them how ever you want. It’s kinda of dual purpose, keeps the PCB smaller and therefore cheaper!

      Make sense?

  2. 3 egr
    April 29, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Right on!


Leave a Reply

