05
May
09

Well the main board came but….


There was a major problem with the circuit, I’m not quite sure what happened but I’m having to get a new set of them, so just more waiting! 😦

Though maybe it happened for a reason, after getting the boards and soldering one together (of course not to work) I saw that it was just too small.  Pots were too crammed (I’ll post a pic later) and buttons were close also so I revised the design to be larger and to also have the extra support holes for the lugs on the pots, I think this will make it much more ergonomic and .  I am still waiting for the LCD boards so those should be soon.  Also I’d like to find about 3 people that would like to be guinea pigs, those who will actually use them and just don’t want something free.

5 Responses to “Well the main board came but….”


  1. 1 egr
    May 5, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Well, I’d love to be a tester. I’ve never done any surface mount soldering, only circuit bending projects and a few Gameboy output mods so I may not be a great choice. I would use it, tho. You can check out my initial chiptune efforts at http://www.8bitcollective.com/members/egr/ I’ll have another one up by tommorrow evening (a 48hour challenge that I’m really liking so far).

  2. 2 starfiretech
    May 5, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    That’s OK I planed on soldering the SMD chips anyhow, since a lot of people aren’t comfortable with them. I’ll let you know when I get new boards in.

  3. May 5, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Hey man- I’ve been following your progress for a little while. I’ve been working on creating my own sequencer synth, all analog, and I’m pretty much done with the design. Would you be interested in maybe doing a cross-evaluation of our two devices?

    If you’re interested, I’ve got a few videos up here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBufmv-jtGM

    And here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WVsiwwwGx0Y

    Let me know. I’ve got a smaller, more finished design ready that I could ship your way. The circuits are all done and I’m now tweaking the case design, knob choices, more aesthetic stuff.

  4. 4 lolitacomplex
    May 15, 2009 at 11:28 am

    hey man, noticed thatr your at the testing stage now! well, i expressed an interest in seeing what this badboy can do before, just throwing it out there again. i assure you that id leave no stone unturned, if theres some bugs or anything in here, il flush them out (and if not il just have hella fun making it squeal and chirp!) Feel free to contact me should you be interested 😉 and good luck with the next stage of improvements. (kinda glad to hear its going a little larger for the ergonomic factor!)

    • 5 starfiretech
      May 15, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      I’ll be in contact once the main board arrives, they have shipped out but since there coming from Hong Kong it takes a week or so for them to get here.


Leave a Reply

Please Donate!

Donate
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

