23
Nov
09

Gakken SX-150 Analog synth with MIDI!


I picked up a sx-150 of ebay, they are kind of a cool cheap synth, all analog sound path, and some simple functions.  It has a carbon strip and a stylus to adjust the tone, cool for effects but not for in tune note.  So I added a MIDI in port, works pretty damn good!  I haven’t messed with it much, but I routed the output into Ableton Live and added some effects, mainly chorus and reverb, check it out!

I plan on doing more mods to synth, since it’s so cheap you don’t mind hacking it,  I’d like to get a square out as it’s only saw now.  Also adjustable resonance a switch doesn’t cut it, along with other things I can hack.

2 Responses to “Gakken SX-150 Analog synth with MIDI!”


  1. 1 JP
    December 8, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Do you happen to have any more info on the steps you took to add midi to this? I have one sitting around that I’d love to midi up.

  2. 2 Lefthandedheroes
    January 6, 2010 at 3:14 am

    The Gakken SX-150 stylus gets the CV and GATE information from the ribbon-like slider pad.
    I just connected the Novation BassStation Rack CV and GATE out to the stylus and voilà! – have my MIDI controlled Gakken.
    The cheapest way to do this is to cut a patch cable in half, took the plastic bits off the wire coming from the tips of the jacks, roll them together and stick the Gakken’s stylus into.
    You may notice that it only works if the BassStation’s CV type set to ’00’ (Roland/Sequential/Arp) – because of the voltage and plug the Gakken SX’s out to a mixer rather than using the built in speaker – this is needed as the ground.

    I believe this works with other MIDI-to-CV converters too.


Leave a Reply

