25
Jan
10

Starting on a new project…


Well I’m starting a new project.  I’ve been tired of having to always order prototype PCBs just to wait and find some simple mistake and just wait again, plus it’s not cheap.  So I’ve started gathering parts for a mini CNC router.  I know, sounds had and expensive, but I don’t think it’s going to be to bad, more about just taking my time.  Parts are pretty cheap, I was going to build my own 3-axis stepper controller, but there are too many cheap ones on ebay to even bother so I just picked one up for 50bux.  I also got some stepper motors for another 30.  Really that’s all the expensive parts.

It’ll be more time designing and building the structure then anything else, since it has to be made under pretty decent tolerances, so I’ll make a trip to a local surplus science and electronics store, and of course to the hardware store and see what I come up with.  I’ll post more when I get parts and what not.

1 Response to “Starting on a new project…”


  1. January 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    I wish a DIY CNC mill too, but I never figure out how to buy and assemble all the mechanical components. I have a lot of steppers from old printers, it would be nice to use them some day!
    I hope that your reports will help me to start a similar project!


Leave a Reply

Please Donate!

Donate
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

