12
Nov
10

It’s been awhile.


So it’s been awhile since I made a post but now that summer/fall is coming to an end I’ll be spending more time on my electronics hobby.  Summer is dedicated to photography (which I also neglected) and my car.  I spent a lot of time going to car shows and just having a nice summer without much hassle.

I’ve been looking for a new job, when your company shrinks from 15 people to 3 plus your boss it really puts a thought in your head that hmm, wonder what’ll happen next, so it’s time to move on but finding a job in graphic design has been quite an undertaking.  If you happen to know of a graphic design position please contact me!

Anyhow for the winter I’d really like to work on a cool midi sequencer using the arduino, keeping it all open source but using a mega to really try and make something cool.  I know there are a few out there but I find very little documentation and to me that’s an important step about working with the arduino.  I still wish there was an easier way to make custom PCBs, but I haven’t found it, it’s such a hassle and I believe it really puts a damper on some of the cool ideas people have.

So I’ll try and post more regularly since I’ll be inside a lot more and keep things updated on what’s going down.

2 Responses to “It’s been awhile.”


  1. November 14, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Hi Jason,

    I literally just sent you a message on Youtube from officialsoundybyte, under my artist name & no sooner did I find the link to your blog. I live in South Africa and need help! I really want to build a 256 button arduinome but the major down falls are pricing and n00b-ness [If that is a word :)]. Here’s the idea:

    -256 button
    -rgb led’s
    -usb out
    -midi out
    -slim design (like the boards on your site)
    -space for further expansions

    Okay, so here are the problems:

    – I love your pcb designs for the buttons, however i dont want to have to use multiplexers, etc. for a 256 board so if by any chance you have the design for a 256 button board, that would be lovely.
    – I really want to build a slim arduinome…. so, do you feel that your Minduino is sufficient for the project? (it must preferabbly have the capacity for further expansions i.e. rotary knobs & LED/ LCD screens)
    – Pricing (thats why im speaking to you) because you have all of the PCB designs, etc.
    – Will your PCB’s support an RGB led?

    The Final Product that i wish to build after all of my expansions is basically an all-in-one mixer with the 256 at its core. I would select all of my loops & files from ableton. Just so that you can get an idea of what im building, Here’s the link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanais/4535111863/#/photos/tanais/4535111863/lightbox/ Which is in fact based upon livids ohm64 (i think).

    Best Regards,
    Daniel Blignaut

    • 2 starfiretech
      November 16, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      It’s going to be quite an undertaking to try and indivually control 256 RGB leds.

      If you are looking just to build an arduinome, I’ve made logic boards just for that (Arduino and shift registers all built on one board) MIDI out wouldn’t be to hard to do and it’s just a serial communication.

      I don’t have a 256 board, a board that large would cost a fortune to have made! It would be about a 14″X14″ board.

      I would start with an arduino mega as it’ll have more of the input/outputs you’ll need.


Leave a Reply

Please Donate!

Donate
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

