06
Jun
11

Custom RGB LED Turn Signals for My Car


Just wanted to throw this up here.  Been working on some RGB LED turn signals for my car (2008 Mustang GT/CS)

I’m using the Adafruit pixels http://www.adafruit.com/products/307 for them, there are 35 in each light.

Why you may ask?  First off why not!  Second I take my car to car shows and just like to have somethingunique that I made myself.  Third I had bought some LED bulbs that were advertised to match the stock headlights in color but they are far from it, they ended up very blue like a typical white LED, I was guessing they used warm whites but I was wrong so after making some tail lights for my dads car I figured why not do the same to mine.

Anyways here is a video that give info and how they look, I’ll post more as they come along. (Picture of car at end of video!)

Here are the ones in my dads car, they use two 8×8 matrices run by one atmega and two MAX7219’s in each lite, so that 128 leds a light and individually controllable. Also a remote to turn them on into ‘Car Show’ mode.

Leave a Reply

Please Donate!

Donate
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

